Austria – Gmunden
28. April 2021
Austria – St. Wolfgang
2. May 2021

Hallstatt

Hallstatt is a small municipality in Austria’s Salzkammergut region with a population of almost 800 people, who receive visits from around 700,000 to 900,000 tourists every year. The municipality and region at and around Lake Hallstatt are UNESCO World Heritage Sites and one of only 20 World Heritage Sites that hold the title of natural and cultural heritage at the same time. In Hallstatt, in addition to the parish church of the Assumption of the Virgin Mary (one of the most beautiful churches I have ever been to), there is the ossuary, which is unique in the world.

However, like most attractions, it was closed when we visited. I still like its story and think the treatment of the deceased is inspiring: for lack of space, about 20 to 30 years after the death of a person, the bones are exhumed, bleached and decorated: on the forehead, next to the date of birth and death, are the name of the deceased, decorated with painted crosses, leaves and flowers. This varies according to the period of painting and is the largest collection of its kind in the world.

A beautiful reflection

Souvenirs

The view to the north

Pandemic – little going on

We were on site in March 2020, right at the beginning of the Corona pandemic in Europe. At that time (I am writing these lines in April 2021), the virus was still far away. China had already banned people from leaving the country, which is why there were hardly any tourists on site. The trains to Hallstatt, which (according to stories) are always packed, were hardly occupied, and you could easily stroll through the narrow streets of the village.

The locals told us that there is usually a big crowd passing through the village and that you can’t get a seat in any restaurant or café. They also told us that the tourists sometimes behave extremely shabby: They enter private properties and houses, are noisy and leave a lot of rubbish but comparatively little money behind.

By the way, we were told the following reason for the mass tourism from Asia: In a very popular Chinese soap opera, the main character asks for his wife’s hand in marriage in Hallstatt. For this reason, Hallstatt has now been recreated as a mirror image in China. Since then, it has become more or less normal to travel to the recreated version of the town for the marriage proposal and to spend the honeymoon in the original. However, I was not able to verify to what extent this is true.

The view of the village from the station, the boat for the crossing can be seen in the centre right

The transit from the station to Hallstatt

Grub Castle

The Hallstatt cemetery – one of the most beautiful ones I have ever seen

Tes and I

I like the look

The bathing island

One of countless swans

I often take several photos with minimally changed details …

… as with the memorial stone of Franz Josef I

Overtourism leads to such signs

Other tourist destinations in the vicinity

In Hallstatt, in addition to the Salt World, the Stairway to Nowhere, several churches and the museum, there are countless other beautiful things that are worth a trip or a hike. However, we were on site at the wrong time and could hardly visit any attractions. Personally, I would have preferred to see the Dachstein and the nearby Dachstein Caves (The Giant Ice Cave and the Mammoth Cave). I’ll keep that for later. Here are some more pictures from the beautiful village:

The entrance to the ossuary

The narrow alleys

That makes me smile: (Hai means shark in German) HawHai; DubHai; HaiTech; HaiRaten (German for Marriage)

There was really little going on

In addition to Hallstatt, we also visited Linz, Gmunden and St. Wolfgang during our short time in the Salzkammergut. Just click on the place`s names to check out the respective article.

C-L

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Abonnieren
Benachrichtige mich bei
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
C-L-Ludwig.com
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x

Österreich – Gmunden
28. April 2021
Österreich – St. Wolfgang
2. Mai 2021
Alles anzeigen

Österreich – Hallstatt

Hallstatt

Hallstatt ist eine kleine Gemeine im österreichischen Salzkammergut mit fast 800 Einwohnern, die jährlich Besuch von etwa 700.000 bis 900.000 Touristen bekommen. Die Gemeinde und Region an und um den Hallstätter See gehören zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe und sind eine von nur 20 Welterbestätten, die gleichzeitig den Titel Natur- und Kulturerbe tragen. In Hallstatt gibt es neben der Pfarrkirche Mariä Himmelfahrt (eine der schönsten Kirchen, in denen ich je war) das weltweit einzigartige Beinhaus.

Allerdings hatte es bei unserem Besuch, wie viele der Attraktionen, nicht geöffnet. Die Geschichte dahinter und den Umgang mit den Verstorbenen finde ich allerdings inspirierend: Aus Platzmangel wurde bzw. werden etwa 20 bis 30 Jahre nach dem Tod eines Menschen die Gebeine exhumiert, gebleicht und geschmückt: Auf der Stirn stehen neben dem Geburts- und Sterbedatum der Name des Verstorbenen, verziert mit gemalten Kreuzen, Blättern und Blumen. Das variiert je nach Epoche des Bemalens und ist die weltweit größte Sammlung dieser Art.

Eine schöne Reflexion

Souvenirs

Der Blick nach Norden

Pandemie – wenig los

Wir waren im März 2020 vor Ort, genau zu Beginn der Corona-Pandemie in Europa. Das Virus war damals (ich schreibe diese Zeilen Anfang April 2021) noch weit weg. China hatte schon ein Ausreiseverbot, weswegen kaum Touristen unterwegs waren. Die Züge nach Hallstatt, die (aus Erzählungen) immer proppenvoll sind, waren kaum besetzt und auch sonst konnte man gemütlich durch die engen Gassen schlendern.

Die Einheimischen erzählen, dass es für gewöhnlich großes Gedränge in den Straßen herrscht, dass man keinen Platz in keinem Restaurant oder Café bekommt und das die Touristen sich teilweise äußerst schäbig verhalten: Privatgrundstücke und Häuser betreten, laut sind und viel Müll aber vergleichsweise wenig Geld hinterlassen.

Uns wurde übrigens folgender Grund für den Massentourismus aus Asien mitgeteilt: In einer sehr beliebten chinesischen Soap-Opera hält der Hauptdarsteller in Hallstatt um die Hand seiner Frau an. Aus diesem Grund wurde Hallstatt inzwischen spiegelbildlich in China nachgebaut. Es ist seitdem quasi normal, dass man für den Heiratsantrag in die nachempfundene Version der Stadt fährt und die Flitterwochen im Original verbringt. Inwiefern das stimmt, konnte ich allerdings nicht überprüfen.

Der Blick vom Bahnhof auf die Gemeinde, das Boot zur Überfahrt sieht man rechts

Die Überfahrt vom Bahnhof nach Hallstatt

Das Schloss Grub

Der Hallstätter Friedhof – einer der schönsten, die ich je gesehen habe

Tes und ich

Mir gefällt die Aufmachung

Im Sommer wird hier gebadet – die Badeinsel

Einer der vielen Schwäne

Ich mache oftmals mehrere Fotos mit minimal veränderten Details …

… wie mit dem Gedenkstein von Franz Josef I

Übertourismus führt zu solchen Schildern

Andere Touristenziele in der Nähe

In Hallstatt findet man neben der Salzwelt, der Treppe ins Nichts, einigen Kirchen und dem Museum noch viele andere schöne Dinge, die einen Ausflug bzw. eine Wanderung wert sind. Wir waren damals allerdings zum falschen Zeitpunkt vor Ort und konnten kaum eine der Attraktionen besuchen. Persönlich hätte ich den Dachstein und die in der Nähe befindlichen Dachsteinhöhlen (Die Rieseneis- und die Mammuthöhle) am liebsten gesehen. Das wird einfach später nachgeholt. Hier noch einige weitere Bilder aus dem wunderschönen Ort:

Der Zugang zum Beinhaus

Die engen Gassen

Das bring mich zum Schmunzeln: HawHai; DubHai; HaiTech; HaiRaten

Es war wirklich wenig los

Neben Hallstatt waren wir in der kurzen Zeit im Salzkammergut noch in Linz, Gmunden und St. Wolfgang. Klickt einfach auf die Ortsnamen, um zum jeweiligen Beitrag zu gelangen.

C-L

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Abonnieren
Benachrichtige mich bei
guest
0 Kommentare
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
C-L-Ludwig.com
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x