My music 2021
8. February 2021
Austria – Gmunden
28. April 2021

Hello!

I was contacted a few weeks ago by Chahat Surtani from Delhi in India. She works for Lynkube, a community dedicated to promoting children’s interests. The website provides a learning, engagement and mentoring platform for students that focus on extracurricular activities and, along the way, builds independent communities of interest for students across the country.

I was asked if I would like to share writing experiences with about 15-20 children aged 8-12. Sure thing!

So I dialed into a meeting on 13th February 2021, talked to the facilitator Richa Singh first and waited until the children joined. That’s when things got really lively, and it was easy to notice that the children are interested in writing.
At the beginning I told them a little about my career and how and why I became a writer. Then I told them about my published books and what my writing is about. Along the way, of course, I answered all the children’s questions that arose.

Then Richa wanted me to spontaneously come up with the beginning of a story for the children to carry on: “Once upon a time there was an elephant that wasn’t grey, but pink!” The children effortlessly let the story continue and set the cornerstones of the pink elephant: After all, other elephants have crooked ears, others can fly, so a pink elephant is only special on the outside, kind of. Then he found a friend in spite of his appearance. As the middle section, I continued with a sentence: The pink elephant went with his grey friend in search of an elephant of the same colour. The children continued and determined the end: When the pink elephant finally found another one in his colour, he didn’t like the pink elephant at all, because: What matters is not what you see on the outside. The inside is much more important. A beautiful story told in a few sentences.

I was also asked for advice that I find important when writing. You’ll find them after the screenshots:

Richa Singh

 

Talking with the kids

Writing advice from me:

The advice I have passed on is as follows:

 

Find your own style, no one writes like you.

Think about who you are writing for. Adapt your words.

Read in all the genres you like.

Try translating your writing into another language and see what that does to your understanding of your mother tongue.

They say “never stop learning”, I’d say “keep learning”.

Your first draft is only your concern – write what comes to your mind.

 

I was supposed to talk to the children for half an hour, but it turned out to be almost an hour. I honestly would have liked to talk to them longer. I had so much fun passing on my experience to young, ambitious writers – it was one of the best experiences in the pandemic I had. Finally, a sharepic of one of the participating children:

If you want, you can find Lynkube on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter, as well as their Homepage.

 

Have fun!

C-L

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Abonnieren
Benachrichtige mich bei
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
C-L-Ludwig.com
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x

Meine Musik 2021
7. Februar 2021
Bücher – Sticker zu Wie schlafen Dinosaurier?
23. März 2021

Hallo!

Ich wurde vor einigen Wochen von Chahat Surtani aus Delhi in Indien angeschrieben. Sie arbeitet für Lynkube, eine Gemeinschaft, die sich damit beschäftigt, die Interessen von Kindern zu fördern. Die Internetseite bietet eine Lern-, Engagement- und Mentorenplattform für Schüler, die sich auf außerschulische Aktivitäten konzentriert und nebenbei unabhängige Interessengemeinschaften für Schüler im ganzen Land aufbaut.

Ich wurde gefragt, ob ich Lust hätte, mit etwa 15-20 Kindern im Altern von 8-12 Jahren einen Erfahrungsaustausch über das Schreiben zu betreiben. Selbstverständlich!

Also habe ich mich am 13.02.2021 in ein Meeting eingewählt, mich anfangs mit der Moderatorin Richa Singh unterhalten und gewartet, bis die Kinder dazukamen. Da wurde es dann richtig lebhaft und es war leicht zu merken, dass die Kinder Interesse am Schreiben zeigen.
Zu Beginn habe ich ein wenig über meinen Werdegang erzählt, wie ich zum Schreiben und den Kinderbüchern gekommen bin, welche Bücher ich veröffentlicht habe und worum sich mein Texte drehen. Nebenbei habe ich natürlich alle aufkommenden Fragen Fragen der Kinder beantwortet.

Dann durfte ich mir spontan den Anfang einer Geschichte ausdenken, die die Kinder weiterspinnen sollten: „Es war einmal ein Elefant, der war nicht grau, sondern rosa!“ Die Kinder ließen mühelos die Geschichte fortlaufen und setzten die Eckpunkte des rosa Elefanten: Andere Elefanten haben nämlich krumme Ohren, andere können fliegen, also ist ein rosa Elefant eigentlich nur außen besonders. Er fand trotz allem einen Freund. Als Mittelteil fuhr ich mit einem Satz fort: Der rosa Elefant begab mit seinem grauen Freund auf die Suche nach einem gleichfarbigen Elefant. Die Kinder setzten fort und bestimmten das Ende: Als der rosa Elefant endlich einen anderen in seiner Farbe gefunden hatte, mochte er den rosa Elefant überhaupt nicht, denn: Was zählt, sieht man nicht von außen. Das Innere ist viel wichtiger. Eine schöne Geschichte erzählt in wenigen Sätzen.

Außerdem wurde ich nach Tipps gefragt, die ich persönlich beim Schreiben wichtig finde. Die findet ihr nach den Screenshots:

Richa Singh

 

Im Gespräch mit den Kindern

Schreibtipps von mir:

Die Tipps, die ich weitergegeben habe, sind folgende:

 

Finde deinen eigenen Stil, niemand schreibt wie du.

Denk daran, für wen du schreibst. Pass deine Wörter an.

Lies in allen Genres, die dir gefallen.

Versuch deine Texte in eine andere Sprache zu übersetzen und schau dir an, was das mit dem Verständnis deiner Muttersprache macht.

Man sagt: Hör nie auf zu lernen, ich würde sagen: Lern‘ immer weiter.

Niemanden geht dein erster Entwurf etwas an – schreib, was dir in den Kopf kommt.

 

Angesetzt war eine halbe Stunde Gespräch mit den Kindern, es wurde allerdings fast eine Stunde. Ich hätte mich gern noch länger mit ihnen unterhalten. Mir hat das so viel Spaß gemacht, meine Erfahrungen an junge, ambitionierte Schreiber weiterzugeben – es war eines meiner schönsten Erlebnisse in der Pandemie. Zum Abschluss noch ein Sharepic von einem der teilnehmenden Kindern:


Wer möchte, findet Lynkube auf Facebook, Instagram und Twitter, als auch auf ihrer Homepage.

Viel Spaß beim Stöbern!

C-L

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Abonnieren
Benachrichtige mich bei
guest
0 Kommentare
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
C-L-Ludwig.com
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x